BP54: East African Federation: Tanzanians favor greater economic integration, but wary of stronger political links

Welcome to the Afrobarometer publications section. For short, topical analyses, try our briefing papers (for survey rounds 1-5) and dispatches (starting with Round 6). For longer, more technical analyses of policy issues, check our policy papers. Our working papers are full-length analytical pieces developed for publication in academic journals or books. You can also search the entire publications database by keyword(s), language, country, and/or author.

Can't find a document?

As we work to upgrade our website, occasional technical issues may cause some links to break and some documents to be temporarily unavailable. If you're unable to find a specific document, please email snkomo@afrobarometer.org

Filter content by:

Briefing papers
Katera, Lucas

The East African Community was originally comprised of three countries: Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda.  These three states have a history of cooperation dating back to the early 20th century, including the Customs Union between Kenya and Uganda in 1917, which Tanzania (then Tanganyika) joined in 1927, the East Africa High Commission (1948-1961), the East African Common Services (1961-1967) and the East African Community (1967-1977).  The East African Community collapsed in 1977 largely as a result of political differences among the member states. 

Related content